Lawan Mirwa Losses Seat To A 29 Year Old After 20 Years At The State Assembly.




Hon. Ahmed Lawan Mirwa the Speaker Yobe House Of Assembly and of the ruling party of All Progressive Congress APC has lost his seat after 20 years in the just concluded governorship and state house of assembly elections held, 0n the 18th of March 2023.

Lawan Mirwa, is representing Nguru state constituency in the Yobe House of Assembly for 20 years and has lost the seat to a young PDP candidate Musa Lawan Majakura.

Musa Lawan Majakura of the People’s Democratic Party PDP got 6,648 votes, to defeat Ahmed Lawan Mirwa of the All Progressive Congress APC who had 6,466 votes.

While other party candidates got lower votes.
The results of the election, was declared by the Independent National Electoral Commission INEC’s returning officer, Alhaji Mahdi Damatu after the election.

By Safrat Gani